Welcome to the Austin Seven Friends web site and forum

As announced earlier, this forum with it's respective web address will go offline within the next days!
Please follow the link to our new forum

http://www.austinsevenfriends.co.uk/forum

and make sure, you readjust your link button to the new address!

Welcome Austin seven Friends
This Forum is Locked
Author
Comment
Propshaft

Hello folks! I have a 1932 RN saloon and the rubber boot on the cardon housing is hitting the underside of the car when driving over a slight dip in the road. Changed the boot but it's still doing it, I'm a total novice and can't see anything wrong my self as everything looks right under there. There is loads of room around the boot when the car is standing still 😕 Any thoughts?

Re: Propshaft

Are you absolutely sure that the noise is coming from that end? Usually the noise comes from the front when the fabric coupling gets worn and the spider flange (ie flanges on gearbox and front end) starts hitting the handbrake.

I'd remove the little hatch at the back, and the cover at the front and drive along with a mate. You should be able to see (or hear) what is happening.

Yes, the rubber boot keeps getting rubbed flat and breaks

Perhaps the front torque tube anchor is the later longer one. This would bring the carden joint too close to the underside of the tunnel.
However I found the rubber gaiters were reluctant to stay on the carden housing and they then flailed about making a lot of noise. I've now fitted an A7 components hardy Spicer Shaft so problem gone.

The tie wraps supplied with some of the rubber gaiters are as much use as a chocolate firegaurd, use a pair of jubilee clips not one which will cause vibration two screwed together to put the screws opposite each other.