CARDIFFWALESMAP

f o r u m

if it's about Cardiff..
Sport, Entertainment, Transportation, Business,
Development Projects, Leisure, Eating, Drinking,
Nightlife, Shopping, Train Spotting! etc..
then we want it here!

City Centre
:: You Tube :: FLICKR :: Cardiff Bay :: CCFC Stadium :: Cardiff Sports Village :: Wales Map :: brought to you by... PR Design and Print

CardiffWalesMap
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Research into Cardiff Bay: Call for Participants

Hi all,

I'm currently studying for an MA in Town and Regional Planning at Sheffield University and am conducting a case study into the redevelopment of Cardiff Bay for my dissertation. At the moment I'm doing a literature review and I have far more ideas than I can possibly cover in 15,000 words! However, the general theme is to examine the lived experience of residents in redeveloped parts of the Bay and asses the extent to which the area can be called sustainable. By this, I don't just mean environmentally, but in terms of local services, open space, connectivity to other parts of the city and the Bay itself. Essentially, do people choose to live there, or are they there out of circumstance? Is it 'liveable' on a day to day basis? To what extent is there a sense of community? Do people consider it as a place to settle down, and could they do so if they wanted to? All of this is born out of my own mixed feelings towards the Bay as a 'neighbourhood', and of course the regular diatribes seen in the press about yuppies, soulless enclaves etc etc., most of which tends to go unattributed and without evidence. I hope to provide just a small insight into what the reality is actually like, and what can be learned for future phases and similar schemes elsewhere.