Return to Website

The Recovery Group Community Message Board

Please feel free to join the message forum discussions.

General Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
On stage and overweight

Hi, I'm Shar.

I'm 30, new to OA, and I'm a professional singer with a rock band. I guess you could call me a "wedding singer" lol. I'm writing today because I have a big gig this afternoon and I'm lacking confidence. We are going to be filming for a DVD.... and since our last DVD I have gained 30 lbs. Am I huge? no. But I used to pass for the stereotypical pop star - skinny with boobs. I wore outfits that showed my flat stomach and everyone called me sexy. Now, people don't recognize me.

True, 30 lbs isn't the end of the world. I feel guilty being in OA with others who need to lose a hundred or more, but for me, 30 pounds has changed my life... for the worse. My husband (who married me in my only skinny fase) calls the weight disgusting, unattractive, embarassing. He says he isn't attracted to me any more. We've had no love life since the weight came on two years ago. I lock the door to take a shower. When performing with my band, people who haven't seen me in a couple years often don't recognize me.... sometimes make comments.... it's horrible. And me? well, I have to keep performing under a spotlight, trying not to cry, trying to look confident and happy. Gotta pay the bills.