Welcome to the Austin Seven Friends web site and forum

As announced earlier, this forum with it's respective web address will go offline within the next days!
Please follow the link to our new forum

http://www.austinsevenfriends.co.uk/forum

and make sure, you readjust your link button to the new address!

Welcome Austin seven Friends
This Forum is Locked
Author
Comment
View Entire Thread
Re: contrasting SU piston spring theory

I've been playing with needles and mixture settings for the last 6 months on my special. I started by reading most of the info on this forum and any info on the net, I selected the weakest needle I could find with the light blue spring in a 1 1/4 SU. We fitted a lambda sensor and gauge to monitor fuel mixture. The setup was good but a bit rich on tickover about 10:1 better on acceleration about 14:1 but on crushing on light throttle the mixture would weaken out erratically and start to misfire. I tried different needles, filling needles no spring, cut down spring.

I was getting a bit fed up with this and decided to try something different and fitted a stiffer spring. Mixture on tick over is still a bit rich 10:1 but ok on acceleration and good on crushing 16:1.

Not sure how fitting a stiffer spring works but it did.

Hi Leon,
the standard design spring for S/D and semi S/D SUs of about the right size for the engine is RED 4.5 oz. Usually works out reasonably with something not too different from an AN needle with a 1 & 1/4" HS2.

Ian Mc.

Leon - that is practically my experience, without the posh sensor!
I am going to send this thread to Burlen for their comment.
On reading everything, I'm also going to try the advice from David Wallom on another old SU thread, which just seems to have some possible relevance in that 'momentary' point that is resulting in the difference of interpretation.