Welcome to the Austin Seven Friends web site and forum

As announced earlier, this forum with it's respective web address will go offline within the next days!
Please follow the link to our new forum

http://www.austinsevenfriends.co.uk/forum

and make sure, you readjust your link button to the new address!

Welcome Austin seven Friends
This Forum is Locked
Author
Comment
Zenith 26VA Carburettor

I’m helping a new member of our club (PWA7 Staffs/Shrops) with his 1936 ARR Ruby that he bought earlier this year. I have no previous experience with a Ruby or its Zenith 26VA carburettor. I have rebuilt the engine and it started first time using the choke. However, from slow running it will not pick up cleanly using the throttle to a faster running speed: it gasps for air as you attempt to open the throttle just like a huge flat spot! When the throttle is opened very slowly it will attain a higher speed.

One problem is that the car has not run properly for a very long time so the carburettor is not a known good working example. I have stripped it totally several times but with no improvement. It has all the correct jets which are all clean and I have cleaned the little Progression Jet underneath the inlet tract together with the small airways leading to the engine side of the butterfly and fitted a screw plug to the Progression jet access which was missing. I have also checked and blown through all the ducts from the beak to the float chamber and had the Emulsion Block apart.

The timing was set to TDC to start with and advanced a little since. The slow running is good and seems to respond correctly to adjustments of the air screw. The air screw is about one and a half turns from right in. I have tried altering this setting but it has no effect on the flat spot. I’m stuck!! Any helpful suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

Re: Zenith 26VA Carburettor