Welcome to the Austin Seven Friends web site and forum

As announced earlier, this forum with it's respective web address will go offline within the next days!
Please follow the link to our new forum

http://www.austinsevenfriends.co.uk/forum

and make sure, you readjust your link button to the new address!

Welcome Austin seven Friends
This Forum is Locked
Author
Comment
View Entire Thread
Re: Grumps...

andrew34ruby
Why is it better for a new member to search for an existing answer rather than ask the question and get answers?

I like to read questions and answers - that's how we learn.

If everyone simply found old answers the forum would dry up and die.

This is a wonderful forum with great people, if you are too busy to answer then leave it to others.

I agree with you Andrew.

I thought the "search" facility was there for poor old hands like me who have forgotten something basic and feel too embarrassed to ask on the open forum.

Hi Ruairidh,
As you well know I am new to A7s and I can agree with your comments, I find that some replies to what seems to a honest request for help finds a caustic response in return. Not everyone has lived with A7s for the last 50 years and it is very off putting to new A7 enthusiasts. I am a member of other vehicle forum sites that are much more friendly and tolerate the newbie with more sympathy.
Bottom line not everyone is a University Engineering Graduate who has spent the last 50 or 60 years playing with their A7s !!!

Thank you all for the emails and your comments on here today - seems this is an issue to a good number of you.

Let's hope the great ideas and considered thoughts shared above are taken up by the few for the benefit of the many.

YRe: Grumps...

I feel differently.
The Austin seven community have always been very helpful to me. It is true that more could be documented.
So if I can be of help call, visit, or email me and I will do my best to help.
Please don't be grumpy.
There are a lot of share people out there.