Welcome to the Austin Seven Friends web site and forum

As announced earlier, this forum with it's respective web address will go offline within the next days!
Please follow the link to our new forum

http://www.austinsevenfriends.co.uk/forum

and make sure, you readjust your link button to the new address!

Welcome Austin seven Friends
This Forum is Locked
Author
Comment
Who built my Seven Special ? GN312

Good morning chaps,

I know its going to be a long road, but I’m trying to piece together the life of my seven. Its no-longer on the DVLA records, so are there other ways ? will request the build sheet from Gaydon.

Chassis Number : tba
Manufactured: Oct 1930

Why I think its more than a one off garage build – sorry I’m no Austin expert, in fact this is my first…

Chassis: looks standard chassis with lovely little T-pieces that fit to the outrigger and support the body / floor.
Body work: Aluminum on a thin tubular frame, the frame being beautifully made. The ali is wrapped and riveted, not the cleanest but effective enough. Where the panel work is curved its been welded. The bonnet has a lovely streamline curve for the driver, lovely domes also riveted giving clearance to the SU. Curved T profile to strengthen the bonnet. Battery located at the feet of the passenger. Side running light mounted on the drivers side.
Wheels: Front 4.50 17” Rear 3.50 19”
Engine: Dynamo, coil, SU carb, single downpipe to the silencer then a 2 pipe !!

And that’s where it stops for me, I’m reading what I can to see what else had been modified…

I brought the car from David Wilkinson of Southern Sevens, I believe he bought it from the north of England.

A few pictures.

Any help very much appreciated.

Kindest regards Matthew

Re: Who built my Seven Special ? GN312

GN issued Jan 1931 - March 1931 in London

thank you for the information Tim

The pictures haven't come up for me.I think the gaydon records are missing for the second half of 1930.