Welcome to the Austin Seven Friends web site and forum

As announced earlier, this forum with it's respective web address will go offline within the next days!
Please follow the link to our new forum

http://www.austinsevenfriends.co.uk/forum

and make sure, you readjust your link button to the new address!

Welcome Austin seven Friends
This Forum is Locked
Author
Comment
Shell bearing con rods

Hi All , I'm fairly new to Austin 7's , but am building a short wheelbase special for trails . I have the chassis and body finished , and am about to start the engine build . I have been offered a two bearing crank with a set of late shell bearing type con rods . The asking price is pretty high , are these rods better suited to a competition engine ? Are they worth quite a lot more than standard rods ? Thanks , John

Re: Shell bearing con rods

If the rods you refer to are the late shell bearing A7 rods (which will probably say "Austin" on them) you will observe thst the rod itself is offset in relation to the bit that fits on the crank. This is to allow for the presence of a centre bearing on the 3 bearing shaft it was fitted to. So on a two bearing shaft, the little end of these rods would end up offset twards one side of the piston, if you follow me. In this case the answers to your questions are no and no.

It does seem odd that you should be offered this combination. Have you been offered a Phoenix crank with modern Renault shell bearing rods or Phoenix rods? if so the answers to your questions are yes and yes!

Regards, Stuart

Stuart is Right. 2 bearing cranks only had white metalled big end bearings. so the combination is indeed wrong. If a 2 bring crank "rings" well or has been crack tested it will give stirring service and is about a tenth of the price of a pheonix!

John.