Welcome to the Austin Seven Friends web site and forum

As announced earlier, this forum with it's respective web address will go offline within the next days!
Please follow the link to our new forum

http://www.austinsevenfriends.co.uk/forum

and make sure, you readjust your link button to the new address!

Welcome Austin seven Friends
This Forum is Locked
Author
Comment
My first breakdown

Evening all

I can proudly say I am now a real Austin Seven driver, I've suffered my first proper breakdown!!

Been out for a really great day with the East Cornwall boys and girls, car was running perfectly, in fact several people remarked how smooth it sounded!! Waved goodbye to Mike Davis and Geoff Hardmann at Stoke Climsland and BANG goes the gearbox!! As I inched back from a wrong turn off it would appear that maybe a tooth has come off the reverse idler . Lost drive to reverse but forward gears function but very very noisy and lots of banging!
Although I was only 20 miles from home it seemed foolish to carry on as more damage was likely, not to mention the possibility of a complete jam up.

RH insurance breakdown works very well, the lady at the call centre was polite and friendly and the flat bed arrived within an hour. In the meantime we were fed and watered by Mike, Katherine, Geoff and Mary!!!

So it looks like I will get some more practice at gearbox rebuilds

Steve

Re: My first breakdown

Hi Steve,

Doesn't the Cornwall club have a breakdown trophy for the worse breakdown during the year, at the moment you must be in poll position !

Let me know if you need any help or bits

Interesting, I have RH insurance, but admit use my RAC insurance on the modern (I believe the fine detail seems to be it's you not the car that is insured) for 'local' breakdowns and only use the RH when abroad etc. All helps to keep the RH premium down, the RAC's seems to have a financial life of it's own, although I have only used the RAC (locally) twice on the Aussie in 5 years -