Welcome to the Austin Seven Friends web site and forum

As announced earlier, this forum with it's respective web address will go offline within the next days!
Please follow the link to our new forum

http://www.austinsevenfriends.co.uk/forum

and make sure, you readjust your link button to the new address!

Welcome Austin seven Friends
This Forum is Locked
Author
Comment
Puzzled

Bought a Smiths Petrol Gauge for the Box last summer and when I tested it, it immediately went to Full no matter where the float was positioned on the sender. Even tried reversing the + and - with no difference in the result. Now this gauge is identical to the gauge fitted to the Box except the number at the top of the face is different. As I'm not technically minded can someone explain simply why this happens and is there anything I can do to get it to work correctly ? My test equipment is definitely working correctly by the way. Cheers. Lew

Re: Puzzled

Hello Lew,

As a bit of background, there are two conventions in respect to "Smith's" system Magnetic Fuel Gauges.

The original types , introduced circa 1931 to the motoring world generally, and applied to the dashboards of Austin Sevens from late 1932 operate on a "minimum sender resistance gives Full reading" basis.

Sometime around 1935, Smith's introduced a variation which operated on the same principles, but which had a "maximum resder resistance gives Full reading" basis.

This latter type became the basis of most Fuel Gauges used in British cars from the late 1930's right through till the 1960's when the 'thermoelectric" type of fuel gauge became established as the norm.

What I am not absolutely clear about is just what whas the situation with Austin Sevens. I strongly suspect that on the basis of what happened to gauges fitted to Morris Eights for example, that the Fuel Gauges fitted to Austin Sevens gradually became "Maximum Sender resistance equals Full" types sometime after 1935, but I have no proof.