Welcome to the Austin Seven Friends web site and forum

As announced earlier, this forum with it's respective web address will go offline within the next days!
Please follow the link to our new forum

http://www.austinsevenfriends.co.uk/forum

and make sure, you readjust your link button to the new address!

Welcome Austin seven Friends
This Forum is Locked
Author
Comment
Gearbox oil?

Gents, I read somewhere what oil is best to use in a gearbox, but I cant find it.

My box is the three speed type, what is the best oil to use? Straight 30?

Re: Gearbox oil?

I am no expert, but for my Chummy, the Castrol lubrication chart says Castrol XXL 40 for the box. When I got the car, the previous owner was using castrol XL 30 for the box (and engine) and it sounded as if there was a bag of loose nails in there. Changing to XXL 40 eliminated most of the racket.

My handbook (Publication 352P) says to use the same oil as the engine, so according to that I should be using XL 30, but I'm sticking to what I'm doing now.

That no doubt leaves you no wiser, but I'm sure the real experts will respond.

Re: Re: Gearbox oil?

Dont worry I currently have cheap as chips 20/50 with detergent in it, mainly because thats what I had to hand when I changed gearbox in a rush 3 years ago. (Cheap oil as the then engine burnt it so quick) it seemed to work ok, but I'm told is not the done thing with a 7 gearbox. Since I need to get some oil for the rebuilt engine about to go in, I thought I may as well get some correct stuff for the gearbox at the same time.

Re: Re: Re: Gearbox oil?

Hedd

I use cheap 20/50 in the engine and I have no problem with this.