Welcome to the Austin Seven Friends web site and forum

As announced earlier, this forum with it's respective web address will go offline within the next days!
Please follow the link to our new forum

http://www.austinsevenfriends.co.uk/forum

and make sure, you readjust your link button to the new address!

Welcome Austin seven Friends
This Forum is Locked
Author
Comment
"Falling" out of third gear

I have a 1933 RP saloon with a 4-speed gearbox, and if I'm driving in third gear, the gearshift "falls" out of gear and into neutral. Is there an adjustment for this?

Signed,
A Yankee in Lord Austin's Court

Re: "Falling" out of third gear

Hi David

I'm no expert, but I have rebuilt my box a couple of times so I may be able to help?

If you take the lid off you will see the 3 selectors and shafts (remove the guide plate first). The bronze selectors run on these shafts and you will see some grooves around the circumference of the shafts which serve to locate the ball bearing in the selector itself. The ball bearings are preloaded by a small spring in a drilling in the selector. This may be your problem area? Engage 3rd and make sure that the correct selector shaft is adjusted so that you get a proper engagement of the ball bearing in the groove to provide positive location (slots for a screwdriver and locknuts are provided for this). The ball or spring could be stuck or broken thus giving poor engagement. If it is suspect you can unthread the shaft carefully making sure the bearing doesnt get lost and repair or replace as required.

This may be the problem or you may have a problem with something more tricky like the synchro hubs themselves, I would try looking at the selectors first as its a lot easier than my description makes it sound! .

Steve.
I have assumed its a later 4spd synchro type?

David,