Welcome to the Austin Seven Friends web site and forum

As announced earlier, this forum with it's respective web address will go offline within the next days!
Please follow the link to our new forum

http://www.austinsevenfriends.co.uk/forum

and make sure, you readjust your link button to the new address!

Welcome Austin seven Friends
This Forum is Locked
Author
Comment
New Owner

Hi,

I am a new novice owner of a 1931 RM Saloon . The car has been renovated sometime in the 80's and not used much in the last decade or so, apart from a seized engine rebore last December. It has an oil leak from the block/crankcase gasket and i guess it needs nipping up a bit. I did this on the carb side and stopped the leak. I cant get onto the nuts inside the valve cover. Is there a technique to this ie a cunning box spanner and do I have to remove the valve cover studs to get to them?

Also, I have trouble getting a smooth gear change from 3rd to 2nd. Its my inexperience I know, should I let the speed come right down in neutral before trying to change? I cant seem to get the right revs for a crunch free change.

Many thanks for your help

Re: New Owner

Welcome to the Austin Seven fold Chris. Sevens do tend to leak in the area you mention so it is not too worrying proded you are not losing a lot of oil. The 3 nuts inside the tappet cover should be special 'bottle' ones with a plain tubular portion topped by the usual hexagon. It is quite possible that these have been replacd by ordinary nuts which will be difficult to get at. If this is the case, I believe that the correct nuts should be available from the usual suppliers. I'm afraid that gear changing is one of those things that just needs practise at double de-clutching.
If you are anywhere near Nottingham on June 3, there is a large gathering of A7s and spares suppliers at Wollaton Park
Hope you enjoy your new toy

Hi Brian,