Welcome to the Austin Seven Friends web site and forum

As announced earlier, this forum with it's respective web address will go offline within the next days!
Please follow the link to our new forum

http://www.austinsevenfriends.co.uk/forum

and make sure, you readjust your link button to the new address!

Welcome Austin seven Friends
This Forum is Locked
Author
Comment
Hydraulic brakes

I am going to instal shortly an hydraulic braking system to my 1934 Ruby and I have a Morris Minor brake master cylinder to fit, but I have not yet determined its location - either fore or aft of the pedal.

Obviously, a mounting bracket will be required and this will be fabricated to suit the final location.

My question to the Forum is has anybody fitted a hydraulic master cylinder that has advice on the best location?

I would be grateful to read any thoughts anyone may have on their own experience.

Regards

Gary

Re: Hydraulic brakes

Hi Gary,

I will take a phograph of the set up on my 29 Saloon and post it onto the site in the next few days. Hope this will be of help to you.

When I recently rebuilt the hydraulic system, which has been on the car sine the 1950's, I changed to silicon brake fluid which is very expensive (£30 a litre), but is supposed to stop the system from seizing up. I also use Girling brake springs instead of the Standard Morris Minor ones, they are much stronger.

Would you like photos of any other part of the system? Let me know and I will see what I can do.

Cheers

Ruairidh

Hi Gary,
There's quite a bit of information and photos on hydraulic conversions on the Speedex website including a photo of the master cylinder mounting. The push rod hole should be drilled 1 1/4" up from the brake pedal pivot. Make sure the cylinder is very secure otherwise the pedal will feel spongey due to flexure.

Good luck with the conversion, I would also recommend silicone brake fluid, it preserves all the cylinders etc.

Dave