Welcome to the Austin Seven Friends web site and forum

As announced earlier, this forum with it's respective web address will go offline within the next days!
Please follow the link to our new forum

http://www.austinsevenfriends.co.uk/forum

and make sure, you readjust your link button to the new address!

Welcome Austin seven Friends
This Forum is Locked
Author
Comment
6V Sat -Navs

I know we've been through all this before, but I can't find the link,and I have a friend who needs to know if its safe to do.

Re: 6V Sat -Navs

Ian,
Tomtoms work ok on 6V. Dont know about others but even if they dont work I cant think you could do any damage by connecting to a lower than normal voltage ie 6V.

I've been using my Sat Nav for two years in our Ruby, with no problems. I put in an insulated accessory socket, out of site under dashboard so I could reverse the polarity to negative earth. Our ruby run on 6volts.

I have a Garmin one that is suitable for Motorbikes so it's waterproof....just as well seeing as I never use the hood. It works perfect in the Tourer which is 6V and it worked perfectly on the EuroTour '07. No need to jump your cars up to 12V for Sat Nav people as some work happily on 6V

Thank you all very much. Ian.

Ian, Can't resist the quaesion: might one be hinding behind the request on behalf of a 'friend'? Can't imagine your solar powered Navigator needs any additional charging! I have found occasional Nagavator unreliability if not correctly handled to be way of heating up the interior regardless of the weather. The following silence should be used to truly appreciate vintage vibrations.
Ross

Like Mel i just added a £2:99 insulated socket from maplins and happily charge my PDA and sat nav.

Hi Ross,