Welcome to the Austin Seven Friends web site and forum

As announced earlier, this forum with it's respective web address will go offline within the next days!
Please follow the link to our new forum

http://www.austinsevenfriends.co.uk/forum

and make sure, you readjust your link button to the new address!

Welcome Austin seven Friends
This Forum is Locked
Author
Comment
Bore Wear

Hi i am new to austin 7's my 1935 ruby special appeared to have oil in no 1 and 2 cylinder so we removed the head tonight to check the bores and pistons, the bores look good as do the pistons, they is a bit of movement on the pistons

They are standard sized pistons, at what amount of wear do i need to get a re bore done.

Re: Bore Wear

Hello Leon, with standard Austin 7 pistons it is usual to see some evidence of oil in all cylinders; be aware that, when new, The Austin Motor company quoted an expected oil consumption of 1 GALLON per 1200 miles i.e. 1 pint every 150 miles (and that was without taking account of leakage). Personally, unless the oil ingress is such that it is fouling the plugs to the point of misfire, I wouldn't worry about a rebore yet.
However, if you are running with Honda or Renault 4 pistons, that is a different story.

What oil are you running it on??

Ian Mc.

Ian

Not sure of oil type as we only picked the car up on Good Friday and we only managed to drive about 35 miles with 6 break downs and then had to call out the recovery, after draining the tank and removing lots of rust we got it running but after about 10 mins of idling we had oil being pushed out of plug 1 and 2 and lost a good about of oil from between block and crank case. Our first thought was that it was pressurising the crank case, which is why we removed the head.

Pistons have got STD ID12 stamped on them, can we getaway with just new rings.