Welcome to the Austin Seven Friends web site and forum

As announced earlier, this forum with it's respective web address will go offline within the next days!
Please follow the link to our new forum

http://www.austinsevenfriends.co.uk/forum

and make sure, you readjust your link button to the new address!

Welcome Austin seven Friends
This Forum is Locked
Author
Comment
Austin Seven "Sports" on ebay.

Is this a very rare model, of which I have no knowledge, or a special?
If its a special as I think, then the claim that only 3000 were made is blatantly fraudulent!

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/1935-Austin-Seven-for-restoration-/281104839668?pt=Automobiles_UK&hash=item41732773f4

Stuart.

Re: Austin Seven "Sports" on ebay.

Yes Stuart, it's a Special and not a particularly nice one at that to my mind. Perhaps would be better with a different steering column/steering box so you could actually drive it with a degree of comfort!! Looking at the apparent height of the seat cushions, it looks like you sit on it rather than in it.

No doubt the other 2999 are waiting somewhere for buyers as well

Steve

Thanks Steve

I thought so, but before emailing the seller I thought I better check that it wasn't a slightly strange coach built car. The column is very odd, it doesn't appear to have been lowered at all.

I will email the seller and let him know that his statement is wrong. I find it highly offensive that a new person to Austin Sevens could be misled in this way. Maybe others would also like to inform the seller of his mistake?

All the best

Stuart.

The car certainly appears to be a special and is listed as one on the A7CA register. I'd agree that it's not one of the prettier examples of the breed!

The wording of the advert is more than somewhat confusing and I sent an enquiry to the seller yesterday, asking for clarification of what they believe the car to be, but haven't yet had a reply.