Clifton Hampden Longbow society

Clifton Hampden Longbow Society

Forum: Clifton Hampden Longbow society
Start a New Topic 
   Board|Threaded
Author
Comment
Some observationson flight shooting.

As the summer approaches, and more away competitions loom, thoughts inevitably return to flight shooting and flight arrows, and all the splendid theorising that goes with it. This of course, is what makes our branch of archery so very interesting, both the mechanics and the history.
Don`t get me wrong, i am no great expert on the subject, any more than anyone else,but their would seem to be a number of very definite and firmly established facts to contend with. Flight arrows were used by the Turks in the fourteenth century, and it was they who established the basic design of the flight arrow. They shot them from very short horse bows, and i mean short. Bow length seldom exceeded three feet, and the arrows themselves no more than eighteen inches. it was the Turks who emulated the shape of the javelin in the design of their arrows,using tiny points and fletchings to eliminate air resistance.
The arrow design has changed little, and arguably it would be extremely difficult to better a design which enabled the Turkish archers to shoot distances of over 400 yards.
Of course, it is not just down to the arrow. As important is the ability of the archer to shoot it effectively. The exact angle of 45 degrees, and the smoothness of the release are all important. Steve Ralphs told me he kept his tab in a tin of French chalk, which contributed o a smoother, faster release.