Welcome to the Austin Seven Friends web site and forum

As announced earlier, this forum with it's respective web address will go offline within the next days!
Please follow the link to our new forum

http://www.austinsevenfriends.co.uk/forum

and make sure, you readjust your link button to the new address!

Welcome Austin seven Friends
This Forum is Locked
Author
Comment
Spares and other things you carry with you

Hi everyone, as I'm new to running an Austin 7 does anyone have any top tips for spares tools and other things to carry when I'm out and about?

I assume I'll need a suitable tool kit, some spares and wot not.

Probably a charged mobile phone and the number of a recovery company!

What else?
Thanks

Rupert

Re: Spares and other things you carry with you

Just stay very close to Ruiaridh, Rupert, he carries sufficient spares to build a new A7 from scratch!

Ian Mc.

Brilliant!

Just replaced a top fan pulley from stock at the side of the road on the Fife run. like Ian says, stick close and you'll be fine Rupert!

When I did the Jogle a couple of years ago, I must have had over a cwt of spares in the car.
The only things I needed in the end were :-
1. The carb banjo bolt and filter - they had become undone and vibrated off (onto the M6) the smell of petrol allerted me.... ..... I did have a complete Carb with me.
2. A HT lead for the coil to dizzy, one of the split washers had given way and there was no proper contact in the top of the coil. As I had a complete dizzy head with all the leads on, no problem. This soldered joint had failed after 45+ years...
So what spares ? .... those that your able and have the skill to use.. !!!

Over the years Ive rarely carried much in the way of spare parts, either on the road or at race meetings. Sods Law states that whatever you have with you will not be what you want at the critical moment.